Last Updated: 2019-01-08
Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size

MEXICO CITY, Jan 8 (NNN-Prensa Latina) -- President Andrés Manuel López Obrador assured in his usual morning conference that Mexico respects the self-determination of each country and therefore does not condemn the elected president of Venezuela, Nicolás Maduro.

López Obrador affirmed that his administration is in favor of dialogue as a way to solve any difference.

It is not a matter of sympathy, it is a question that has to do with matters of our foreign policy, which have always yielded results, affirmed the Mexican president.

He emphasized that Mexico cannot condemn a foreign government 'because it is violating the principle of nonintervention, of self-determination of the peoples, but dialogue yes, in everything we can dialogue.'

López Obrador pointed out that previous administrations of his country abandoned that foreign policy and that they supported decisions taken in other latitudes.

'For other reasons, we are not going to act like this, we are going to be respectful of all governments and all the peoples of the world,' the new president emphasized.

Last Friday the Lima Group met in the Peruvian capital and 13 of the 14 members signed a declaration urging Maduro not to assume a new mandate on January 10. Mexico was the only one that did not sign the text presented at the meeting.

The Undersecretary of Mexico for Latin America and the Caribbean, Maximiliano Reyes, stated that his country would not sign the document in faithful compliance with its constitutional and foreign policy principles.

The Lima Group is a conglomerate of countries formed on August 8, 2017, with the objective of carrying out an interventionist monitoring against Venezuela and its government constitutionally elected by the people, and re-elected in May 2018.

After the meeting of the group last Friday, which included the participation by video call of the Secretary of State of the United States, Mike Pompeo, a statement urged Nicolás Maduro not to assume the presidency of his country.

The group includes Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Guyana and Saint Lucia and has the support of the United States, the European Union and the Organization of the American States. -- NNN-PRENSA LATINA